Sony is making plenty of headlines lately, for a change, and also in relatively unusual manner, it’s a bunch of “old” Xperia devices that are getting most of the media and public’s attention rather than repetitive new phones.

But we still expect at least two such “next-gen” mobile products from the Japanese company to see daylight at MWC 2017 in Barcelona next month. Specifically, on Monday, February 27, it’s now confirmed, with doors open at 8:15 CET, and the actual Mobile World Congress-inaugurating press conference beginning just 15 minutes later.

That’s 8:30 am local time, 2:30 in New York, and 11:30 pm on February 26 in Los Angeles. More importantly, it’s 4:30 pm in Tokyo (February 27), and 1 pm in New Delhi, which sounds conveniently comfortable to follow.

While an online live broadcast of this mystery presentation isn’t guaranteed yet, recent history suggests Sony will want the entire world to watch the event. Also based on what happened last year at MWC, you might be anticipating refreshed Xperia X, X Performance and XA variants.

But it’s possible only the lower-end Xperia XA is due for a sequel already, alongside the gargantuan XA Ultra. Meanwhile, it remains to be seen if Sony intends to continue experimenting with concepts like the Xperia Ear and Projector.

You May Also Like
Huawei Mate 30 Pro review

Huawei Mate 30 Pro review: the best phone you can’t get, and that’s OK

In our Huawei Mate 30 Pro review we’re trying to answer the question of whether the phone can survive without Google support, and should you buy it?

Companies could soon get licenses to sell to Huawei

Good news for Huawei: In a recent Bloomberg interview, Commerce Secretary W. Ross said he was optimistic about reaching a “Phase One” China deal this month.

The upcoming Moto Razr has been spotted in the wild, with a huge chin

It seems that the new Moto Razr is already being caught in the wild, with a huge chin, and there’s a picture to prove it