Netflix is not cheap. The company recently increased the prices of all the plans in the US and Canada earlier this year, and it will only go up now. One way of getting Netflix for cheap is by sharing an account with your friends. It's a practice that has been in existence ever since Netflix first launched. However, it seems that Netflix wants you to stop this (or pay extra if you do so).
Netflix says that the "accounts are being shared between households", which is lowering its overall revenue and its ability to invest in original TV shows and movies. So to share Netlfix account passwords with others easily and securely, the company is testing new ways to "Add an Extra Member" to the account.
The company says that in the coming weeks, users on the Standard and Premium plans will be able to add up to two people to their account. These sub-accounts will have their own profile, login, and recommendations. Currently, this feature will only be available in Peru, Chile, and Costa Rica, and will cost around $2 or $3 for each extra member.
In addition to the "Add an Extra Member", Netflix will also allow users to transfer their profile to a new account. People will now be able to transfer profile information to a new account "keeping the viewing history, My List, and personalized recommendations," says Netflix.
Unfortunately, we knew that the password crackdown was coming. Password sharing is actually against Netflix's terms and conditions (section 4.2), but the company has never made a move to enforce it, until now. And while the current features only apply to accounts in certain regions, they will make it to the US and other areas sooner or later.