One would think that deleting the Google Photos app from your Android smartphone would be enough to end all of the app’s processes… and that makes sense, right? Unfortunately, that’s not the case. Many are not realizing as they delete the app that the automatic backup of pictures to Google’s servers (if enabled when the app was on the device and in-use) doesn’t actually stop. Because of how the app taps into Play services and the Android operating system itself, Google Photos auto-upload will not stop upon deletion of the application.

Though we find Google Photos an incredibly convenient service (saying no to having unlimited storage of high quality pictures would take some serious skill – or privacy concerns), we acknowledge that it’s not for everyone. So here’s what you’ll need to do if you want to shut off the auto-backup service having already deleted the app. Head into the “Google Settings” application on your phone or tablet, and turn off the slider for “Google Photos Backup” there. There’s no other way to turn off the auto-backup if you have the app uninstalled; even the deletion of the entire suite of Google Drive apps from your phone won’t do it.

Source: Nashville Business Journal
Via: Engadget

You May Also Like
OnePlus 9 Pro
OnePlus 9, Samsung Galaxy S21 and more Android devices are on sale
Check out some of the best deals on Android smartphones available today, starting with the OnePlus 9 series, the Galaxy S21 series, and more
Google Pixel 6 cases
Google isn’t offering Fabric cases for the Pixel 6 Series
Google is no longer offering its unique Fabric cases, instead its now offering a plastic case for the Google Pixel 6 and Pixel 6 Pro flagships.
Samsung Galaxy S22 Ultra featured main
Samsung Galaxy S22 Series charging speeds are revealed in new listings
A leaked screenshot listing confirms that Samsung has officially certified the upcoming Galaxy S22 Series at the Chinese 3C, revealing the charging speeds.