OnePlus invites are officially ‘gone forever’, global OnePlus 3 sales kick off June 14 after all

Advertisement

It was only a few hours ago that we thought the final piece of the OnePlus 3 puzzle had fallen neatly into place, but as it turns out, something got lost in the translation of a Weibo poster hinting at a Chinese announcement early June 15 morning.

As previously suggested, the 2016 “flagship killer” will instead break cover on June 14 around the world. The big story however is that the very same day open sales are also scheduled to begin from New York to London and Paris to Bengaluru.

No invitations needed, no strings attached, no restrictions or catches, just head over to OnePlus.net at 3 PM Eastern Time one week from Tuesday, and you can be among the first to order the affordable metal-clad 5.5-incher with either 4 or 6GB RAM.

Better yet, open the doors of the Loop space station at 12:30 PM EDT to enjoy the world’s “first global VR shopping experience”, and truly secure your spot in the front of the line. That’s 9:30 AM in San Francisco, 4:30 PM GMT, 5:30 PM BST, 6:30 PM CEST, and 10:00 PM IST.

It’s unclear if access to the “fully-immersive, 3D VR event” will be restricted to lucky owners of the company’s rookie headset effort, but we think not, so get your Samsung Gear VR, Oculus Rift or HTC Vive ready as well if you’re interested in the “interactive” release.

Back to the important matter of invites, it seems the controversial system is officially and permanently retired, including for future OnePlus product launches. After a slow, uncertain start, the Pete Lau and Carl Pei-co-founded outfit can finally properly evaluate demand for new gadgets, manufacture and distribute them accordingly. Welcome to the major league, OnePlus!

Source: OnePlus Forums

Share This Post
Advertisement
What's your reaction?
Love It
0%
Like It
0%
Want It
0%
Had It
0%
Hated It
0%
About The Author
Adrian Diaconescu
Adrian has had an insatiable passion for writing since he was in school and found himself writing philosophical essays about the meaning of life and the differences between light and dark beer. Later, he realized this was pretty much his only marketable skill, so he first created a personal blog (in Romanian) and then discovered his true calling, which is writing about all things tech (in English).