Wrong Time On the iPhone Can Expose Pictures In iOS 5

Advertisement

Whenever we head into Settings (regardless of the platform the phone runs) and decide to password lock our devices, it is because we want to limit other people’s access to information on our devices. Apple’s latest iOS allows users to snap pictures quickly without the need to unlock the phone; after all, some moments only last for a couple of blinks.

There seems to be a bug in iOS 5 that could allow an unauthorized person to take a look at your photos, without the need to unlock the device. It is a bit tricky but nevertheless a security issue. Normally one would only be able to snap pictures and review those in that session when the iPhone is locked.

“Turns out Apple’s restriction is just a simple filter based on the timestamp when the Camera app was invoked”, says Ade Barkah. Here’s the deal: if the time on your device rolls back then all the pictures taken from the (erroneous) time shown on your phone onwards are visible even if the phone is locked. Want to test it out? Set your time to anything in the past and access the Camera app while the phone is locked. Here’s hoping Apple will fix this problem in the next iOS update.

Source: Peekay

Via: RedmondPie

Advertisement

What's your reaction?
Love It
0%
Like It
0%
Want It
0%
Had It
0%
Hated It
0%
About The Author
Anton D. Nagy
Anton is the Editor-in-Chief of Pocketnow. As publication leader, he aims to bring Pocketnow even closer to you. His vision is mainly focused on, and oriented towards, the audience. Anton’s ambition, adopted by the entire team, is to transform Pocketnow into a reference media outlet.Given his background, and knowing his potential, something tells us he will succeed this time too! Stick around!Read more about Anton D. Nagy!| Google+